What is the Deeds Office

posted in Deeds Office, General

The Deeds Office is responsible for the registration, management, and maintenance of the property registry of South Africa. There are 11 deeds offices (Pretoria, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Mpumalanga, Pietermaritzburg, Bloemfontein, Vryburg, King Williams Town, Umtata, Limpopo and Bloemfontein).

You can get information from the deeds registry on the following: 

  • The registered owner of a property
  • The conditions affecting such property
  • Interdicts and contracts in respect of the property
  • Purchase price of the property
  • Rules of a sectional title scheme
  • A copy of an antenuptial contract (ANC), deeds of servitude, mortgage bonds, etc.
  • A copy of a sectional title plan or the rules of a Sectional